Begin Main Content Area

2021 National Safety Council (NSC) Training for the Advanced Safety Certification (ASC) Offered

The National Safety Council’s (NSC) Advanced Safety Certificate is one of the credentials acknowledged by the Department of Labor & Industry for an individual to be recognized as a qualified accident and illness prevention services provider under the Health and Safety Regulations of the PA Workers' Compensation Act (act). The act requires that providers who deliver prevention services on behalf of a worker's compensation insurer or self-insured employer, or who deliver safety committee training in the three required topics for state certification or recognition, be qualified.

For 2021, the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation’s Health and Safety Division is, along with the NSC, co-sponsoring this training.

Please note:

Courses/dates are:

Fundamentals of Industrial Hygiene (FIH): 5 day session – 6hr/day
Fee: $1395 NSC Members, $1750 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees
Jan. 25-29
March 8-12
May 10-14
 
Principles of Occupational Safety and Health (POSH) 3rd Edition
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees
Jan. 19-22
March 16-19
May 24-27
 
Safety Management Techniques (SMT)
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees
Feb. 8-11
April 6-9
June 14-17
 
Safety Training Methods (STM)
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees
Feb. 1-4
April 13-16
June 7-10
 
Incident Investigation
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees

Feb.  24
*March 1-2
May 5

 
Job Safety Analysis
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees

Feb. 23
*March 1-2
May 4
**June 16

 
Safety Inspections
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees
Feb. 3
*March 1-2
June 3 (classroom session offered with regional show in Indianapolis; registration outside NSCL)

 

 
Team Safety
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees
Jan. 6
June 9

 

 
Ergonomics
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees

April 12

 
Industrial Hygiene Basics
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees

Jan. 6
April 19

   
Risk Assessment Workshop
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees

Jan. 7
Feb. 4
*March 1-2
March 11
April 12
June 8

   
Lift Truck Operator – Train the Trainer
Fee: $1295 NSC Members, $1650 Non-members, $995 for Commonwealth of PA employees

Jan. 7
Feb. 9
March 12
April 23
May 6
June 2

Registration closes 5 business days prior to start of session to allow materials to be shipped.

*Two half-days; registration via Congress website

View the National Safety Council Advanced Safety Certificate document for course requirements, descriptions, online registration instructions, and directions for receiving your Commonwealth of Pennsylvania employee discount contact:

NSC Customer Service
(800) 621-7619
customerservice@nsc.org

View the PATHS training calendar.

"Accident Prevention Through Education"