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Under the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation
Act (Act) if you opt to establish a list of designated
panel providers, your injured employee will
be required to receive treatment by a medical
provider from the list for 90 days.

However, if your panel doesn’t meet the required
criteria or you don’t provide your employee with
proper notice of their rights and duties, then your
employee is free to choose a provider who is not
on your panel.

Enclosed is information that will help you better
understand more about the administration of
Pennsylvania’s Workers’ Compensation panel
provider lists.

*PROBLEM
WRONG PANEL COMPOSITION

v" Your panel must have at least six health care
providers, no more than four of whom may be a
coordinated care organization and at least three
of the providers must be physicians.

¥ Your panel should include geographically
accessible provider types that are often used to
treat the types of injuries your employees might
experience.

1134 Pa. Code §§ 127.751-127.755
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*PROBLEM
PANEL LIST WASN’T POSTED
PROPERLY

v" Your list must be up-to-date and include the
following information about the provider:

e Name

¢ Specialty/Provider Type
e Address

e Phone

e Whether the provider is employed,
owned, or controlled by you or
your workers’ compensation
insurance company.

v" Your list must be conspicuously posted at the
workplace. Posting a panel where employees
don’t have access won’t establish that the
panel was properly posted. Some employers
use areas where their employees frequently
gather including, but not limited to:

e Break rooms

Time clocks

e Locker rooms

e Employee communication boards
e Elevators

e First aid stations



*PROBLEM *PROBLEM

EMPLOYEE’S RIGHTS AND IMPROPER USE OF THE PANEL
DUTIES NOT COMMUNICATED , _
CORRECTLY Even if you properly post your panel and

provide your employee with the required
notices, you are still required to ensure
that you are not directing the treatment of
the employee by telling them which of the
providers on the list they must see.

¥" Employees need to know how to use a panel
provider list properly. The regulations require
that employers provide employees with
notice that treatment with a panel provider is

required. The notice must be given: e Employees get to pick whomever

) ) they want from the list
e At the time of hire, AND

e Employees can change between
different providers on the list as
many times as they want

e Immediately after the injury or as
soon as possible

v" Make sure your employees know that once
the 90 days is over, they can choose to keep
using panel providers or they can receive
treatment from a non-panel provider.

v" Employers are responsible for knowing when
their employee doesn’t have to use the
panel during the first 90 days:

e Emergencies
v’ Additional details about what must be g

included in the employee’s notice of rights e If the type of specialist an employee
and duties can be found at 34 Pa. Code, § needs is not on the panel
127.755.

e [f the panel provider recommends
an invasive procedure, employees
can get a second opinion from a
non-panel provider

e [f a panel provider refers the
employee to a non-panel provider
for treatment

Employers can contact their workers’ compensation claims administrator to request additional
information about use of a provider panel under the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act.

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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