How does a claim get into litigation?

A claim is brought into litigation by the filing of a petition by
any party. Petitions may be filed through WCAIS or by
mail. WCAIS is of course preferred. Once a petition is filed,
a Dispute number is created and the matter is assigned to
a Workers’ Compensation Judge (or, WCJ) for hearing. A
party has 20 days after assignment to file an Answer, and
a hearing generally takes place within 30 days of
assignment.
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What happens during the litigation process?

There is almost always more than one hearing on any
case. Often testimony is taken at the first hearing, although
each judge has his or her own rules and procedures.
Medical evidence is gathered, an Independent Medical
Examination may take place, and hearings may include
testimony or even argument of legal issues.
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Is the case decided after one hearing or several?

Most cases need more than one hearing. Decisions
generally occur within 90 days of the close of record and
submission of briefs. A decision must be in writing to be
valid, so decisions are almost invariably not made at a
hearing.

;

—— pennsylvania
A e




What evidence is considered?

A judge may consider a wide variety of relevant evidence.
The evidence may include deposition testimony, medical
reports and records, testimony of “lay” (non expert)
witnesses from the employer or other witnesses,
surveillance video or pictures, manuals, wage records, and
other relevant evidence. A judge generally may not accept
hearsay, and in cases with more than 52 weeks of
disability medical testimony is required.
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Investigation Level

Investigation Level: Investigation by all parties is
imperative from the moment an injury has occurred. Many
times, this involves recorded statements, reviewing
records, searching index histories, and considering the
law. Doing the hard work early on may avoid litigation.
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Who testifies?

The Claimant almost invariably testifies in front of the
judge at a hearing. Other potential withnesses may include
spouses, coworkers, employer representatives, private
investigators, health care providers and others, who may
testify at hearings or by deposition.
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What happens if an appeal is taken?

|
Appeals may involve several levels of appeal. The first
level after a decision by the Workers’ Compensation Judge
is the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board, commonly
called the WCAB. A party taking issue with a decision of a
WCJ has 20 days to file an appeal, at no charge, to the
WCAB. No evidence is taken on appeal except in the
rarest of cases, and decisions are based on review of the
evidence before the WCJ and after review of briefs.
Thereafter, if a party wishes to appeal it goes to the
Commonwealth Court, for a fee. Finally, if that decision is
appealed, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court may accept or
reject an appeal, before deciding the merits. Most cases
do not make it to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court level.
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Tips From The Judge

Investigation Level: Investigation by all is imperative from the
moment notice comes in that an injury has occurred. Employers need
to talk to witnesses and the injured worker. The injured worker may
even do the same. The insurance carrier should do so as well. This
means taking recorded statements, reviewing records, searching index
histories, and considering the law. Doing the hard work early on can
pay huge dividends down the road, and avoid litigation.
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Tips From The Judge

For attorneys: Be prepared! Know your file, the case law, and the
regulations. It is imperative that you know the particular rules and
policies of the Judge hearing the case. The Workers’ Compensation
Office of Adjudication has a link to each Judge’s information and
policies at http://www.dli.pa.gov/Individuals/Workers-
Compensation/wcoa/judge/Pages/default.aspx.

Utilize WCAIS to track and upload exhibits, requests, hearing status,
etc. More and more, Judges are relying on WCAIS, and counsel are
expected to use it.

Be respectful. It is an essential aspect of our litigation system that
counsel treat all parties, opposing counsel and the Judge with respect.
An overly-aggressive attitude may turn the focus to you instead of the
legal and factual issues Finally, consider carefully when to resolve
matters and when to take them to decision.
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Tips From The Judge

For employers: Pay attention to your mail. Ignoring mail often leads to
a default due to no Answer or a late Answer. Turn important
information over to your insurance carrier or TPA, and cooperate with
any investigation. Finally, base your claims decisions on business
rather than personal considerations.
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Tips From The Jud
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For claimants: Be respectful. Be on time. Dress respectfully.
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Tips From The Judge

For insurance carriers and TPAs: Be thorough in your claims
handling. Investigate within the time frames required by the Workers’
Compensation Act. Early and prompt investigation leads to better
decisions and, if it is litigated, can result in a more complete
evidentiary record. Enable your counsel to comply with the judge’s
scheduling order. Mediate cases in litigation, and do so in good faith.
Make sure the authority is given in advance and is a valid assessment
of risk. Barring exceptional circumstances, you should always have
realistic authority for mediations.
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